Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Black Boy White School

ebook

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in—or not— Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?


Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperCollins

Kindle Book

  • Release date: January 3, 2012

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780062099174
  • Release date: January 3, 2012

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9780062099174
  • File size: 3712 KB
  • Release date: January 3, 2012

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:4.4
Interest Level:9-12(UG)
Text Difficulty:3

In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in—or not— Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.

Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.

As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.

In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?


Expand title description text